A Rollercoaster of an October

Wow.  What an October!

12144774_1057676597589819_3931372473756125682_n

Not long after the fabulous but exhausting tutored writing retreat, I found out that I had been shortlisted into the Top 55 and a semi-finalist of the So You Think You Can Write 2015 competition with my current work in progress – Love on the Nile.The competition, run by Harlequin, was done in conjunction with Wattpad this year and, although the Top 55 were  chosen by Harlequin Editors, whether you got through to the next round was decided by public vote, via Wattpad. Cue a flurry of activity across Twitter and Facebook trying to get as many family, friends and anyone else to vote for my pitch (sorry to all those who were bombarded by my ‘gentle reminders’ to vote for me!). There was stiff competition – all of the top 55 were fantastic entries, and many had literally thousands of followers on Wattpad so I always knew it was a long shot. I didn’t make it to the next round but am thrilled to have been shortlisted, and I’ve made some fantastic links with other authors also going through the competition.

12184175_10208283240902443_3878984577473889658_o

Obviously, I can’t write a blog about my rollercoaster ride of an October without mentioning Halloween – I love Halloween and host a party where all the family come around for a mad afternoon/evening consisting of lots of food and lots of madcap games. This year’s party was slightly marred by the rather stressful event of my laptop deciding to die on me – I spent two days trying to sort it out myself (unsuccessfully) before telephoning Microsoft and getting their online engineers to fix it for me. It took them seven hours of working on my laptop via remote access but they did eventually fix it – I could have kissed them. My lovely family couldn’t really understand just why I wanted to cry at the thought of not being able to use my laptop; not only am I almost at the dissertation stage of my Masters degree, but I am currently waiting to hear from my editor about any edits on my forthcoming debut novel, hence – I needed my laptop! But…it’s all fine now and working perfectly 🙂

So, that brings me nicely to my exciting news!  I’ve just heard from my lovely Publishers, Tirgearr, that my novel, Beauty and the Recluse, is due for release on 19th February 2016. I am so excited and can’t wait to share details with you.

So…a rollercoaster ride of an October but one in which I am edging closer to that dream of becoming a published author. Watch this space for more details of Beauty and the Recluse.

Leave a Reply

