Counting down to Release Day

So, where did January go? It seems to have  flown by in the blink of an eye. And that means….. yes, release day for Beauty and the Recluse is almost here! I can see 12th February on the horizon.

Gosh, what a roller coaster of a ride it is being an author. I’m filled with excitement as the moment when I officially become a published author draws nearer. And yet, I’m also filled with trepidation – what if no-one likes it? What if I get awful reviews?

So far, though, excitement is winning and this cold and blustery start to 2016 has seen me promoting Beauty and the Recluse through a variety of mediums – Facebook, Twitter, Google Plus and Instagram, trying to keep to the 80/20 rule – no shoving ‘buy me’ ads down follower’s throats (I hope I haven’t anyway). I’ve also looked at how other authors promote their books – I’ve made some excerpt books, and ordered business cards, postcards and bookmarks and aim to use these as soft promotion tools.

I find the promotion/marketing element quite stressful though – and as I’m part of an incredibly friendly and supportive marketing group on Facebook, it appears I’m far from being the only one. Nevertheless, I have bitten the bullet and am arranging to give some talks/sessions to reader and writer groups at the local libraries.  I’ve also planned to give interviews on various blogs just prior to and after the release date as well as an online book tour. As I say, it’s all new to me but I’ll let you know how I get on.

I’d love for you to join me and say ‘hi’ on the tour, or comment on the blogs etc so here are the dates etc:

February 16 – Reading Addiction Virtual Book Tours – Kick Off

February 16 – Awesome Book Assessment

February 17 – Romance Writer and Lover of Books

February 21 – Coffee Book Mom

February 22 – Musings From an Addicted Reader

February 24 – The Butterfly Reads

February 25 – Jeri’s Book Attic

February 26 – Bobbies Book Blog and Reviews

February 27 – RABT Reviews – Wrap Up

 

Guest blogs are planned for:

http://sharonblackauthor.blogspot.ie/  – Monday 8th February 2016

http://www.reviewedthebook.co.uk/     – 12th February 2016

I’m going to try and utilise my blog a little more as well – and am hoping to add in some guest posts to make it a little more interesting than for you all having to read about me, me, me!  So, watch this space and, if you are interesting in putting forward a guest post for me – just let me know, I’d love to hear from you.

Ellie x

Beauty_and_the_Recluse_by_Ellie_Gray-sm_banner

 

 

2 thoughts on “Counting down to Release Day

  1. Fantastic, it’ll soon be here hey, how exciting and I love the tour you’ve got lined up! I’m def up to be a guest on your blog, let me know some dates. Can’t wait to see how it all goes and don’t worry about the reviews, everyone is going to love it 😊 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

